About my job

 

La Blonde en baskets

Hey guys ! πŸ™‚

As I mentioned in my Bio blogpost, I’m gonna talk about what I really do in life. I’m not living as a blogger or influencer or whatever, I’m a Visual Merchandiser.

Never heard of it ? Don’t worry, most of the time when people ask for what I do, I always see in their eyes that they’ve absolutely no clue about what I’m talking about. So I’m always explaining what it’s about and I’ll do the same here. πŸ™‚

What’s Visual Merchandising ?

“Visual merchandising refers to anything that can be seen by the customer inside and outside a store, including displays, decorations, signs and layout of space. The overall purpose of visual merchandising is to get customers to come into the store and spend money. Visual merchandising includes how merchandise is presented as well as the store’s total atmosphere.ItΒ also includes determining in-store traffic flow patterns to calculate the best places to put displays so the greatest number of people will see them.” learn.org

I found this definition that, in my opinion, sums-up well what it really is. The aim is to make a store looking awesome in order to attract customers, then to showcase products the best we can to sell them, while creating at the same time a good shopping experience for the consumers.

About me :

I personally did a degree in Marketing and then a bachelor in Visual Merchandising. I started in-store, which is really important to understand how a store works, how to implement/showcase products using the brand’s guidelines etc.. and now I’m working in headquarters, where I create the implementations books/directives that are then sent to the stores.

So, basically I’m a nerd using Photoshop/Illustrator and 3D softwares but I do love my job, I can mix creativity with real business issues, it requires a good knowledge in fashion, colors, architecture, and every inspirations is taken ! That’s how we create new concepts in stores..

I’m done with this little blogpost a bit aside of what I want to talk about, but hope you’ve found it interesting though and learnt something. πŸ˜‰

Heading to Mallorca in few days, so looking forward to it !

Cheers, Xxx

One thought on “About my job

  1. Pingback: Bio

Leave a Reply

